• Amelia Rolton

Young stars shine in JSRA Country Super Round 2


Local Esperance Junior Sedan driver Cameron Brown has taken out Round 2 of the JSRA Country Super Series for New Star Junior Sedans in a thrilling race, which saw changes for the lead on multiple occasions.

15 New Star Junior Sedans rolled into the pits at the McD Contracting Esperance Speedway for Round 2 of the series, which doubled as the series opener after Round 1 was cancelled due to poor weather in Kalgoorlie. When the heat racing got underway the New Star Juniors had some fantastic racing on a track that started very slick before coming up nicely.

Cameron Brown was on the money from the top of the first green flag, taking out 2 heat races and the A Dash to earn himself pole position for the 15 lap feature race. Chantelle Bate and Daniel Erceg would also take out heat race victories, while Daniel Erceg would also take out the B Dash to join fellow Esperance racer Cameron Brown on the front row of the feature race grid.

Earlier in the night a number of cars came into contact with the concrete wall in turn 2. One of those would be Josh Starling who would sustain some damage to his Daihatsu Charade as well as suffering from a headache and decided not to compete in the feature race.

When the feature race got underway the racing was closely contested between Brown, Erceg and Bate. The trio jostled for the lead throughout the entire race, which continued when they came upon lap traffic. Part way through the race the leading trio came upon a wall of lapped traffic, which meant the leader would have to slow to manoeuvre their way around resulting in a number of lead changes. At one point Brown, Bate and Erceg were three wide racing for the lead, much to the pleasure of the spectators. Once they managed to get past the lapped traffic it would be Cameron Brown who would hold on to take the victory over Daniel Erceg and Chantelle Bate. Albany’s Brooke Watson would have a fantastic battle throughout the race with Hayden Mortimer and would hold on for fourth position ahead of Hayden Mortimer, Jack Borchet, Telieshia Cubbage, Kaden Brown, Beau Doyle, Bronty Fraser, Emma Clarke, Tahj Hotker and Bryce McDonald.

All drivers that started the race would complete the distance, in a spectacular race that went from the green flag to the chequered without a stoppage.

New Star Feature: 1. W11 Cameron Brown, 2. W55 Daniel Erceg, 3. W19 Chantelle Bate, 4. W37 Brooke Watson, 5. W8 Hayden Mortimer, 6. W14 Jack Borchet, 7. W91 Telieshia Cubbage, 8. W16 Kaden Brown, 9. W51 Beau Doyle, 10. W5 Bronty Fraser, 11. W85 Emma Clarke, 12. W4 Tahj Hotker, W9 Bryce McDonald DNS: W6 Josh Starling

- Details courtesy of Mitch Berliner


Ellenbrook’s George Eaton has taken out the series opener of the JSRA Country Super Series for Top Star Junior Sedans at the McD Contracting Esperance Speedway last night over Northern Territory Champion Josh Fraser and Collie’s Cody Avins.

A fantastic field of quality Top Star Junior Sedan drivers converged on the McD Contracting Esperance Speedway for Round 2 of the JSRA Country Super Series last night and turned on the action for the spectators with racing of a great standard.

In the earlier heat races Katanning’s Jarrin Bielby was the driver to beat, taking out both of his heat races and then went on to take out the A Dash to secure pole position for the 20 lap feature race. George Eaton and Travis Armstrong would also take out heat race victories, while Eaton would also take out the B Dash to start along side Bielby on the front row of the grid.

The night was full of thrills and spills with many drivers coming to grief with the turn 2 wall including Jacob Potts, Chloe and Dylan Parkes, as well as Jake Avins. Potts would sustain significant damage to his wonderfully presented car and would not be able to take any further part in the nights action after just one race. Jake Avins would also sustain significant damage, but through the efforts of his hard working team. They were able to piece it back together and get him out for the following races.

When the green flag dropped for the 20 lap feature race it was Josh Fraser who got the best of the start from the second row, this would be short lived as he turned the car around in turn 1 as a result of too many cars fighting for the one piece of track. The yellows would come on and a complete restart called. When the race got underway again, it was set at a cracking pace, with Bielby, Eaton, Fraser and Esperance local Gaje Price fighting it out for the top four positions. This would not last long as Gaje Price would come to a stop in turn four with a snapped tail shaft, ending his night.

The yellow lights would come on again and the field was brought back together. George Eaton would lead them away once again and would fight it out with Jarrin Beilby and Josh Fraser for the lead, before Bielby also suffered mechanical dramas and would join Gaje Price on the infield and retired from the event. After this, it was George Eaton who would retain control of the field, before coming under pressure from Josh Fraser on multiple occasions throughout the race before Fraser would take evasive action, as a lapped car spun in front. Fraser would just touch the wall in turn 3 and 4, however the green lights would remain on, allowing Eaton to skip away from his nearest competitors.

This left Josh Fraser with a lot of work to do while he battled with Cody and Jake Avins for the minor places. Luke Fraser would then retire from the event with only 2 laps remaining and take no further part. George Eaton would go on from here and take the victory over Josh Fraser, Cody Avins, Jake Avins, Travis Armstrong who came from the back of the field, Dylan Parkes, Chloe Parkes, Isaac Arnold and Travice Clarke.

Top Star Feature: 1. W17 George Eaton, 2. NT1 Josh Fraser, 3. W10 Cody Avins, 4. W11 Jake Avins, 5. W16 Travis Armstrong, 6. W23 Dylan Parkes, 7. W21 Chloe Parkes, 8. W9 Isaac Arnold, 9. W99 Travice Clarke DNF: W96 Gaje Price, W39 Jarrin Bielby, W2 Luke Fraser DNS: W81 Jacob Potts

- Details courtesy of Mitch Berliner

Supermods Feature –

1. David Scott, 2. Neville Williams, 3. Brad Casey Total Points #52 David Scott 131 #1 Neville Williams 110 #23 Brad Casey 107

Lighting By Lakes AMCA Nationals –

1. Greg Horan, 2. Craig Scott, 3. Denaye Culver Total Points #4 Greg Horan 144 #12 Craig Scott 112 #13 Denaye Culver 92

Esperance Caravan & Camping Street Stocks –

1. Hamish Macalpine, 2. Todd Barrett, 3. Zane Humphrys, 4. Sean Barrett, 5. Josh Stewart, 6. Brenton Bridges. DNS- Gary Leeson, Michael Constable Total Points #00 Hamish Macalpine 117 #46 Todd Barrett 110 #39 Zane Humphrys 87 #9 Sean Barrett 76 #17 Josh Stewart 48 #18 Gary Leeson 45 #28 Brenton Bridges 41 #97 Michael Constable 6

Esperance Holden Speedway.png

















  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon
Site by Cain Willing