• Esperance Speedway

2019/2020 Opening Night

The Esperance Holden Speedway returned to action last Saturday night for the opening round of the 2019/2020 season. Wet weather looked to stall the season opener however, the rain cleared and the eagerly waiting drivers took to the newly resurfaced track! Spectators braved the cold conditions and witnessed a great night's racing for the start of a massive season.

The New Era Shearing Junior Sedans returned to Esperance Speedway with a very strong car count. The All Star Junior division was dominated by young gun Hayden Mortimer, winning all 3 heats and the final. Fellow rival Cameron Brown placed pressure on Mortimer along with younger brothers Kaden and Logan Brown on the pace not far behind. Kaden Brown also won the Junior sedan best presented award.

The Rookie Junior Division had a mix of first-time drivers and second year drivers taking to the track. Making their debut was George Tate, Jackson Goodwin and Kayde Anthony, it didn't take long for the nerves to clear and showed clean and safe racing amongst some fast paced 2nd year drivers. Christopher and Hayley Dickerson, Sean Kirwan and Charlie Tate had the pressure applied by visiting Kalgoorlie drivers Cam Aldrick and Amber Shore. After a steady start Aldrick proved too good for the locals taking the feature win.

The Esperance Outdoor Power Equipment Street Stocks had good numbers with competitive racing by all. Wade Rigney debuted his brand-new FG Falcon, winning the best presented senior sedan award before putting down a fine drive missing out on the podium by 2 points. Jared Bridges didn't have the best start to the season, retiring the car with mechanical damage after heat 2; while Linton Dickerson had a damage free night in the commodore. Tristan Stroet started the night well however retired the car in the final with suspected engine problems. Dylan Williams show cased his new colour scheme finishing the night 3rd overall. Visiting Kalgoorlie drivers Luke Barnewall and Dean Shore mixed it with the locals however veteran street stock driver Zane Humphrys had the horsepower dialled in taking the win over Shore in the Final.

The Natrad Esperance Production Sedan division had the crash crew busy, with Blake Fletcher losing the front right wheel of his Daihatsu in heat 2. After a long layoff, Jeff Dickerson returned to the production sedan racing in his VY commodore, Jeff had good heats before parking the car heavily in the turn one concrete in the final. Tye Tyrrell had a good night in his new VZ Commodore while the pace of the night was set by Sean Barrett and Hamish Macalpine. Barrett had the commodore working overtime but the Cortina of Macalpine was unbeatable throughout the heats and final.

AMCA Nationals returned to club racing with Greg Horan, David Boyes and Murray Parsons JNR all having plenty of pace and putting on some close racing. Heat wins were shared by Parsons and Boyes but Parsons proved too good in the feature taking the chequered flag.

The Esperance Combined Tyre and Mechanical Burnout Division had spectators on the edge of their seats, drivers were attempting new manoeuvres on the recently extended concrete pad. This proved challenging for some with multiple collisions against the tyre wall. Early mechanical problems saw Gary Nazar, Glynn Jones, Josh Major and Ryan Butler spectating from the sidelines, while Kael Lawrence and Michael Green both showed reverse gear burnout skills. Jaydon Hurst in his 6-cylinder falcon showed talent placing 2nd between the V8 Holdens of 1st placed Luke Oshannessy and 3rd placed Shannon Anthony/Jake Cracknell.

Credit- Bronty Humphrys.

Esperance Holden Speedway.png

















  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon
Site by Cain Willing